Fonni Snow World

spherical-panorama-fonni-snow-world-sardinia

Spherical pano of Fonni Snow World

Thinking of Sardinia you may imagine lying on a hot beach along a clear turquoise sea, but hardly a Fonni snow world will spring to mind. After I moved to this Mediterranean island during a winter a decade ago, seeing evergreen trees everywhere, I wondered if I would miss the snow and ice from my home in the north. When I saw distant white on hills bordering the sea, it belonged to my imagination and had to be clouds as I, that funny Dutchman, was told so by the locals. For snow you had to be on the highest mountain peaks at more than 1000 m above sea level in the middle of the Island and the heart of winter. There lies the town of Fonni where you even may take a lift up so that you can ski down. When it became fairly cold these days, I regularly checked the weather forecast, finally bought a pair of snow chains and then drove in four hours from Cagliari to the north. There I enjoyed for the first time in my life what might well be the last Sardinian snow, at least for this year.

Leave a Reply

